SIDE HUSTLE JOB ACQUISITION = SUCCESS!

Courtesy of photobucket user jaxdester

Courtesy of photobucket user jaxdester

Guys, this is amazing. I can’t believe it, but I’ve already been offered the job I interviewed for yesterday, despite not being the exact candidate they were looking for. Their ideal candidate would be someone who could be on campus at the school to do face-to-face stuff from time to time (in addition to the bulk of the job, which can be done remotely).

Instead, they are going to use me for telecommuting stuff, and I’m not sure how they’ll handle the issue of faculty who want to meet face-to-face. I guess I must have come across as a strong enough candidate that they’re willing to work around that! Also, I told them that I would have much more time in the summer to come down and work with people face-to-face, because I don’t teach in the summers. So, I must’ve done something right…. Woohoo!

They want to meet next week to go over the job requirements, etc., and give me some training, and I also have to meet with HR and get all those forms filled out, etc., but then hopefully after that I should be able to jump right in and maybe (MAYBE) even get a paycheck by the end of February?

Or… that might be hoping for too much?

Anyway, I’m beyond thrilled. SOOOOOOO EXCITED.

This means that I can put something entirely new on my resume, something outside my regular field, and this will make me much more attractive as a job candidate for future job opportunities.

Also, SIDE HUSTLE MONEY.

So…. how did I get this job?!

While I’m far from an expert on interviews or getting jobs, I’m going to share my thoughts on this in the hopes that it could possibly help someone else… though who can truly fathom the inner workings of the minds of hiring committees?

RESEARCH: Well, I spent hours researching the institution (it did help that I’d worked there before, not gonna lie) and found all the relevant personnel and websites to the position I was applying for. Then I talked to people at the institution: I did informational interviews (with two different people). Then I researched the programs this institution uses (and that the new hire would be using) so I’d be able to talk about it intelligently in the interview. And when I say that I researched personnel, I mean that I (creepily?) looked up people on LinkedIn for their skills and programs they use. I also tried to figure out who would be on the interviewing committee to familiarize myself with their names and job titles. I looked for anyone who had a similar degree as mine or from the same institution as me (even though no one did – eh, at least I looked).

REHEARSAL: I googled common interview questions. I asked friends who had interviewed for similar positions what questions they were asked. I practiced answers in my head. I went over important points that I wanted to bring up (my comfort level with the programs, elements that made it clear that I had researched the institution, etc.).

ENTHUSIASM: Okay, I’m pretty sure this got me the job, and here’s why (said the pompous person who was just offered a part-time telecommuting gig). When I sent my follow-up “thanks for having me in to interview” email, three people from the committee responded. Two said they were impressed with my enthusiasm (while one mentioned my knowledge of the subject matter), and another one just gave me a very generous compliment. (I was grinning from ear to ear like a complete fool. I still do, if I think about it!)

I found that although I was interviewing for a job that was completely different from any other job I’ve ever done (teaching), I can get great results by simply showing my passion for the topic. I know the topic wouldn’t be interesting to everyone (just like teaching isn’t a passion for everyone), but I imagine if you’re applying for a position, you are probably interested and hopefully enthusiastic about the job. If enthusiasm doesn’t come naturally to you, then I bet some acting may have to come into play.

I do think there’s a line here, of course – I wonder sometimes if I come off as giddy or even immature, maybe, though I hope not! I remember that when I was introduced to the faculty at my first job, the principal said that they were excited to have me as their new music teacher, who would bring “enthusiasm” to the job. So, obviously this is something I’ve just been doing all the way along, but never much thought about.

It makes me wonder about what happens to some people when they interview. Is a symptom of nervousness seeming disengaged, for some people? Or do they just come off as not interested? I surely could not have been the only person would have been enthusiastic about that job, but I wonder if I just show it more. Just have to make it clear that I’m not a crazy little yippy dog of hyperactivity…. I guess I got the balance right this time!

I look forward to sharing with you how much extra income it will be, and how we will use it! I’ve never telecommuted before, nor have I been an hourly employee (outside of working retail, where you literally punch in to a time clock).

2014 is treating me WAY better than 2013! Here’s to a great rest of the year!

What has helped you land jobs you’ve interviewed for? Do you think enthusiasm is a big part of getting hired, or is it just something that works for some and not others? I’d love to hear about other people’s experiences with this!

– M

6 thoughts on “SIDE HUSTLE JOB ACQUISITION = SUCCESS!

Leave a comment