March 2015 Accountability

 

Continuing from February, I’m combining Accountability with the month’s Budget Recap post. This post is broken into two sections: Budget and Debt Eradication.


Budget Accountability for March 2015:

March Budget Recap

 

Woohoo!:

  • Thank goodness we stayed so far under on gas!
  • …and that’s pretty much all I can say. Wait, I can say that it’s good that we stayed right at the budget or under budget on almost everything?

Whoops!:

  • We went over budget. It wasn’t a huge difference, but it ruined my not-going-over-budget streak.
  • The food budget is our nemesis. I’m still considering how we can get the food spending under control. We’re able to stay under budget in groceries when we don’t have any special events, but we had a potluck and a few other social events that definitely impacted our spending. All that being said, this is still an area of concern and we’ve got to fix it.

Thoughts:

  • Since my most recent side hustle ended early this month, I’ve started thinking about finding a new side hustle. I keep revisiting how long it will take us to pay off our loans, and I have come to the decision that we really need to increase (and diversify) our income. I’m starting to investigate some options, but I will probably really start this hunt in earnest this first week of April.
  • Next month, H will be traveling quite a bit, so I won’t change the gas budget line, even though apparently we can stay under the regularly budgeted amount with our normal driving.

Debt Eradication for March 2015: 

March Debt Eradication

 

Debt Eradication:
  • $2800 extra payment sent to Loan 1
  • $413.06 to extra student loans later in the month

YES! This month we accomplished a significant drop in our student loan debt. We spent last month building up to have enough money to make it worthwhile messing with Navient. The whole point was to send them a check in a high enough amount to get Navient Loan 1 down to a similar level to Navient Loan 2 (see the image), then any extra payments we send in the future, we won’t need to give them directions about only applying it to one loan. Then I sent that other additional payment later in the month. We lowered our debt by $3,783! (That total includes the minimum payments and our payment to our Citibank card, which is carrying some of our student loan debt as well.)

March3screenshot

Total Debt Eradication

March 2015 Net Income: $343.82 (This will probably change, as some transactions don’t seem to post in line my blog-writing schedule… hrmph.)


Snowflaking: $649.58 (some of this went towards the big payment we made this month in addition to our minimum student loan payments; some of it was snowflaked after that and will be put towards next month’s additional payment)

  • $378.43 – leftover from our February paychecks (we snowflake any amount over $5000)
  • $50 – American Express Dollars (from our credit card; unfortunately, we also got slammed with the $75 fee…. I need to decide if the benefit from using the card is still outweighing the fee)
  • $100 – from not having to pay after school care for L this month!
  • $40 – H’s side hustle
  • $20 – from consigning
  • $10.80 – extra money from a Mary Kay sale
  • $0.55 – interest income from checking account
  • $50.00 – from my mom for something to buy for L – but I used some Amazon credits we had so I deposited the $50 instead!

2015 Consigning Totals: 
I’m curious about how much we will make in one year by consigning our clothing and L’s old toys at my favorite consigning store (and any other sales if I decide to participate). 
  • $56 (February) – this was unusually high!
  • $20 (March) – woot!

2015 Mintly Snowflaking Goal Progress:

My goal originally was to snowflake at least $50 per month, for a yearly total of $600. As you can see, we’re doing somewhat better than that, so far:
  • $110.01 (January)
  • $929.75 (February)
  • $649.58 (March)

2015 Snowflaking total so far: $1689.34

To see more 2015 Mintly Goals, please click here.

Life Accomplishments this Month:

  • Got to see my parents in VA – we drove up and they drove down and we got to hang out with them all weekend. I don’t know why we haven’t done that before, since we’ve only lived down here for about 5 years or something….
  • We made our wills and even got them witnessed and notarized! More on that in a future post, I believe….
  • I did some sewing to avoid having to replace some items of clothing! Me! WHAT WHAT.

What are your favorite sites to dig up side hustles? I’m looking for online, work-from-home-after-my-kid-is-in-bed side hustles, and I’d be open to editing, writing, instructional design, teaching online, etc. I have a few websites I check out every so often, but I’d appreciate your input!

Leave a Reply

