October 2014 Recap


Copy of  January 2014 Accountability

Click to embiggen.

Click to embiggen.

screenshot

Click to embiggen.

 

AAAAAAUUUUUUGGGGGGGHHHHHH November is a beast! So much going on, and, as I stated earlier, I just haven’t been able to sit down and wrap up October and prepare for November properly. To be honest, my budget still isn’t perfect for November (lots of unknowns), but at least it’s settled down some. I guess I’m waiting until the new year to start sharing our budget, because, really, why would I start in December, the month of nothing-is-going-to-go-the-way-you-plan-so-don’t-even-bother-trying?!

October 2014 …. who can even remember it at this point?

The Numbers…. 

The money we made from selling our house is still going to remain in our savings account for now, though I spent a lot of time waffling again on that decision recently. We’ve decided that given the volatility of my husband’s current position, it’s better to have more savings in the bank than aggressively pay down our student loans (much as it pains me to type that), so although the money is classified as a Future Mortgage, it’s also acting as a comfort because I know we could use it as an Emergency Fund. I do know that ideally an Emergency Fund is just that – just for emergencies. This just seems to be the best fit for us for right now. I always reserve the right to change my mind. 😉

In September, we got a gift of $5000 from my grandparents. It didn’t really come through into our account until October, though (out-of-state checks take a while, it turns out, when they’re worth 5K…). For a while we weren’t sure if we were going to need it to carry a mortgage for another month (when we had trouble with the buyers of our house), but then things everything settled down. So we used $2000 of it for dental work that we didn’t know H was going to need (yaaaaay?) and then put the rest of it to our student loans.


Additional Money this Month: $2,563.58

I don’t feel like I can call this “snowflaking” because we’re not putting this towards debt. All of this money went directly to our Travel Fund so that we can feel secure that it’s fully funded for our trip in July. At this rate, we should have it fully funded by February (maybe earlier?!) and then we can be putting that $500 a month towards additional student loan payments again.

– $40.50 – from a Mary Kay order

– $430 – reimbursement from our home owner’s insurance

– $1839 – reimbursement from our escrow (put into our travel fund so we can cut the number of monthly payments we need to make before it’s fully funded_

– $110 – Land’s End refund (returned a bathing suit that started to come apart at the seams…grrrr)

– $40 – sold lawn mower we can’t use anymore

$10.69 – reimbursement from work for food from October work trip

– $51 – another Mary Kay order

– $42.39 – H&M Return (should have looked at their sizing more carefully… oops)


Money Accomplishments This Month:

Honestly, all of that snowflaking above felt pretty good, and getting that $5000 wasn’t exactly an accomplishment, but it sure helped us not go into CC debt on H’s dental work. Whew!

Money Setbacks This Month:

We still went over budget on food. I’m like a broken record. I’m working hard this month, and so far (in November) we’re doing great. However, I have a friend coming to stay with us this week and Thanksgiving is also coming up… I just know that we’re going to go over budget. However, I’ve planned the meals I’ll be making for my friend at home, so I have high hopes that it won’t be astronomically over budget!

Life (as in, Non-Monetary) Accomplishments this Month:

  • Dude. I can’t even remember what October was like. Pretty leaves? Yeah. Pretty leaves.

Lesson Learned: Don’t leave your monthly blog recaps until the middle of the following month, because none of your notes will make sense and you’ll probably do your math wrong. The END! Hope everyone is having a great November!

EDIT: Wow… not only did I have the wrong title for this post (September?!), but I also had included the wrong image at the top of the post. Fixed now…. but sheesh!

2 thoughts on “October 2014 Recap

  1. Sounds like a great idea to have a bigger savings for the just in case right now. 🙂 We definitely do the same thing when we are coming up on some “unknowns” in our life. $2500+ to debt is GREAT!!! Congrats! 🙂 I hear you about the grocery fund, we always increase our budget by about $50 during Nov. & Dec. for the holidays… and now that are guests come from the states and stay with us for 2+ weeks we definitely increase our grocery budget the months of visitors too! 🙂 Wishing you the very best!

    Like

  2. That’s some nice additional money! I remember my parents going through the same thing when they sold their house; they were so excited to get money after they moved once everything paid out. I would have done the same with the $5k (dental work stinks!). I just did my budget recap, and I was getting confused between the months, too. Oops!

    Like

Leave a Reply

