7 Things About Me

versatileSpecial thanks to Nichole from Budget Loving Military Wife for nominating me for the Versatile Blogger Award! She blogs about being a military spouse who is budget-conscious and totally focused on paying down their mortgage! Her tenacity amazes me. 🙂 She has great tips, especially for military families who may be moving abroad, so check it out!

The rules for the Versatile Blogger Award are: Share 7 Things about Yourself and Nominate 15 Bloggers. Y’all, I simply can’t do 15 – I’m still a newbie at this! So I will nominate some and if you’ve already been nominated…. sorry! 🙂

Okay, the 7 Random Things about Me:

1. I met Jane Goodall and John Cleese

In college, I was fortunate enough to go to a college (2.5 hours away from home) that was right next-door (almost) to the university my friend attended. She is a year older than me, and she was involved in some kind of campus activity that allowed her special access to the guest speakers her school brought to campus. One year they brought Jane Goodall to speak, and it was AWESOME. I got to hear the presentation, then I got to go backstage and meet her! I don’t think we shook hands, but it was still pretty awesome. She smiled at me, this amazing woman!

Another year, I was ecstatic when my friend told me that John Cleese was coming! I did the same thing – got to go backstage afterwards and talk to him. Plus – and this I remember quite clearly – I got to shake hands with him! Another amazing person. But here’s the absolute best part…

2. Shaking John Cleese’s Hand Helped Me Meet My Best Friend

When I went back to my own college, a friend of mine told me, “I know someone who will be so excited that you met John Cleese.” She “introduced” me to another girl (who was in some of my classes, so I really already knew her), and this girl WAS extremely excited. She shook my hand because I had shaken John Cleese’s hand. And then, you know what? That was the beginning (basically) of a beautiful friendship. (Love you, friend! You know who you are.) 🙂

3. I Have High Frequency-Hearing Loss

I am a musician with hearing loss, and I played the flute and piccolo all through middle and high school. We think I damaged my hearing because of multiple ear infections when I was younger (I never got tubes in my ears). For the most part it doesn’t bother me, only now that we’ve moved into an older house, I’m VERY concerned about faulty wiring or some other thing I can’t even imagine causing a fire, and me not being able to hear the smoke alarm (they are quite old). We’re going to buy some newer ones – it looks like that from January 2014 on, new smoke alarms emit high and low sounds to alert you. I won’t rest easy until we actually have them and get them installed, though.

4. My Favorite Holiday is Christmas

…and I wish I could start legitimately decorating in early November so I could enjoy my holiday decorations for at least two months.

5. H and I went to Greece for our Honeymoon

It was awesome.

6. MintlyBlog Isn’t My First Blog

When I was pregnant, I started a blog to chronicle my pregnancy. It wasn’t anonymous – I would let people know on FB that I had posted a blog update, and that way anyone who wasn’t interested in pregnancy stories wouldn’t have to see any of it!

7. I Always Wanted to be a Ballet Dancer

…but clearly not hard enough to actually work for it. Also, I’m not sure my body is the dancer-type. (Meaning, it is definitely not.)


My Nominations (and please forgive me if you were already nominated, since you probably were, as I’m so late to the game!):

  1. BlonderBetterFasterStronger
  2. Blogging for Balance
  3. Journey to Saving – Erin M. just got engaged, too – congratulations! 🙂

And if you wish your blog was listed here, please go ahead and nominate yourself and say it was me! 😉 I won’t give you away, promise.

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “7 Things About Me

  1. I love how #1 led to #2. Fires scare the heck out of me, so I don’t blame you for wanting to get new alarms that you can hear.

    Why NOT start decorating early? =) I’ve seen Christmas trees through windows in November before. There are some people who leave their outside lights on forever. It’s your place, decorate how you want! I used to love decorating with my parents. It was a tradition until I moved out.

    Also, very jealous you went to Greece for your honeymoon. Sounds amazing! Thank you for the nomination and the congratulations again. =) I did the tag in mid-September, but it was nice getting to know more about you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Maybe I can convince my husband to let me start decorating early! At least if I don’t put up the tree, maybe putting up other festive things might work? That would also make it a lot less work when actually decorating the day after Thanksgiving (which is normally when I do it – all at once!). 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

