Just Keep Swimming….

I know, I’m sorry. I’m not even really a “Finding Nemo” fan.

Anyway.

I know I’m not alone when I say that payday just can’t come fast enough! Right? Right?!

I was holding on to about $400+ in our checking account, leftover from divvying up our Tax Return. I decided to go ahead and send it to our Car Loan, because I was kind of afraid we’d end up spending it, because we were over budget on our groceries for the month. On the other hand, putting that cash all towards the car loan means that we will be putting some groceries on the credit card today.

There’s no way around it: while I hope we stay under the amount of money we have left in our checking account (about $150) for this grocery run, I don’t want to risk over-drawing on our account before we get paid on Friday. Grr, grr, grr.

So, we will end the month with a credit card charge.

Someone else* was talking about how it’s better to wait until the end of the pay period to pay debt because she always ends up being short on money before the next paycheck. I read that, commiserated, and still made the same mistake I always do! I know we’ll pay off the credit card as soon as we get paid, but that’s paying for last month’s bills with this month’s money. (Well, February’s bills with March’s money.)

In other slightly-downer news, I found out info about my side hustle: while part-time staff get paid on a pay period that lasts from the middle of one month to the next, they don’t do Direct Deposit (?!?!?!?!?!) and instead will have to mail my check. So. That won’t happen until the last day of March, so I won’t actually see any of this money I’m working so hard to earn in February until April. Siiiiiiiiiiigggghhhhhh. Hey, at least it will still come in (well, I may not truly believe it until I see it!).

That’s the update from over here….. Anyone got good news to share?

– M.

* That “someone else” is a fellow PF Blogger, and I simply can’t remember who it was! If it was you, speak up!

7 thoughts on “Just Keep Swimming….

  1. It sounds like you need to either really reconsider if your grocery budget is an accurate representation of what you’re going to spend on food or if it’s a number you made up because you *think* that is the amount you should spend. It does no good to fib to yourself about what you’re truly going to spend on groceries.

    Why would you send all of that money to a car loan just to have to charge groceries? Isn’t that kind of counter intuitive to getting out of debt? You should pay yourself FIRST and food is paying yourself! You gotta eat!

    Do you think that the excitement to see those big numbers dropping is possibly causing you to make emotional rather than logical decisions?

    I hope you don’t think I’m harassing you, I just want to pick your brain!

    Like

    • I ABSOLUTELY think that’s the case – all I want to do is see the debt numbers decrease as rapidly as possible, apparently even if it’s in a way that ends up hurting me in the end!

      I’m wondering if I need to set more aside in a sinking fund for things like household items (cleaning items, etc.) because I include those in the grocery budget, which ends up meaning we overspend in that budget line. Something else to consider for March, I think.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. taracoss79 says:

    I also learned the hard way to pay debt at the end. Just in case. This money thing is a “work in progress”. As long as we keep learning, right?

    Like

  3. We all have to adjust and work through it the best we can! I HATE credit card debt, but I’ve had to use while the hubby has been out of work.

    Maybe you could simplify cleaning products. I use vinegar and dish soap on A LOT of stuff personally and it saves a ton of cash. You could just also budget a bigger grocery budget every other payday? I think we’re going to have to do that as well because we put cleaning stuff and pet care in our grocery budget as well.

    Just remember if it doesn’t work, YOU can change it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s so me! I think I’m doing the rigth thing with “extra” money and then it turns out I need it. Luckily this money stuff is like a marathon. Well get there eventually.

    Like

Leave a Reply

